Student Service Center

Page content

FAQs

Paying tuition and fees

  • How much do I owe?
  • Check the Statement of Account on your Student Center at buckeyelink.osu.edu for a list of current charges, including tuition, fees, housing and past-due balances.

    Your account can change based on your actions, so check it often. Important: Holds placed on your account as a result of non-payment or underpayment may halt services such as registering for classes, viewing grades or receiving a diploma upon graduation.

    For details about university tuition and fees, see the explanation of fees.

  • How do I pay?
  • Fees may be paid using ePayment online through the Student Center. Cash is not accepted. Checks and money orders should be made payable to The Ohio State University and must include the student’s ID number. Online payments may be made from a personal checking or personal savings account or valid credit card (Discover, Master Card, VISA and American Express).

    To use ePayment:

    • Sign into Student Center at buckeyelink.osu.edu.
    • Click the Make Payment button in the Finances section and choose from the payment options listed below:
    • Electronic check payments: Make an online payment from your checking or savings account using your routing and account numbers. The account must be located within the United States.

      Credit cards: Ohio State currently accepts Discover, Master Card, VISA and American Express. Note: A 2.75% non-refundable convenience fee is charged by the credit card company per transaction.

      Guardian access: Authorize a guardian(s) to make payments. Guardians can also link accounts for more than one student.

      Mail a payment: To mail a check or money order select the Mail a Payment button to generate a payment coupon. Sending payment without a coupon may result in delays in posting the payment to the account.

      Foreign currency: Make an online payment using foreign currency. Note: Currency conversion rates are updated daily and are effective for 72 hours after the point of transaction. Foreign currency ePayments are pending until the wire transfer of funds from the bank is completed.

  • Does Ohio State offer a payment plan?
  • Ohio State's Tuition Option Payment Plan (TOPP) allows you to divide the cost of tuition, housing and fees into three installment payments. Students can enroll in TOPP through the Account Inquiry link on their Student Center once fees are calculated for the term through the second Friday of classes. Students must sign up for TOPP each semester and pay a $30 enrollment fee.

    Once financial aid has applied each term, the remaining balance will be split into three payments. The first TOPP installment is due on the initial payment due date, which is about seven days prior to the first day of class. The remaining payments are due about every 30 days. Note: Late fee payment penalties apply.

  • When are tuition and fees due?
  • Tuition and fees are usually due one week (7 calendar days) prior to the first day of classes each term. Check your Statement of Account for all due dates, including for TOPP installments. Find the dates each term on the Academic Calendar. If you register after the fee deadline, your statement of account will reflect your new due date. For summer term, please refer to your statement of account or important date’s calendar. Note: Pay attention to due dates! If fees are not paid on time, you will receive substantial late fees and you may even be dropped from classes.

  • Why am I being charged additional fees (COTA, RPAC, etc.)?
  • The COTA, recreation (RPAC), student activity, and student union fees are part of tuition and are mandatory regardless of the student's employment status, use of facilities, or location of residence. You can find more information on each fee by visiting the Explanation of Fees.

    The Student Health Insurance and Student Legal Services fees can be waived in many cases.

  • Why was my payment declined?
  • The most frequent reasons for a declined payment are incorrect information, insufficient funds, or inserting a comma or dollar sign in the Payment Amount (use digits only: 1000, not $1000 or 1,000).

    To find out why your payment was declined, check with your bank to verify sufficient funds and correct account information. If that doesn’t resolve the problem, contact the Student Service Center.

  • Why was I charged late fees?
  • The university assesses a $200 late fee if an account is not paid by the payment due date (usually 7 days prior to the start of classes for the term). An additional $100 late fee is charged if the account remains unpaid after the second Friday of classes.

    Late fees are also assessed for:

    • $100 for each class added after the second Friday of classes
    • $500 for initial registration after the second Friday of classes

    Students who remain unpaid after the second Friday of classes are dropped from all courses. To be re-enrolled, the student must pay all outstanding charges, including incurred late fees, and is also subject to a $300 fee to re-enroll.

    Note: Additional late fees can be assessed by University Housing and University Dining Services.

  • How do I appeal a late fee?
  • To appeal a late fee applied to your account, you must submit complete a Late Fee Petition Form.

    Along with the form, please include:

    • A written explanation of why the late fee was incurred
    • Supporting documentation

    Please mail, fax or bring the information to the Student Service Center.

  • Why was I dropped for non-payment?
  • The Ohio State University drops classes for students who still have outstanding balances on their accounts after the second Friday of classes each term. Outstanding balances can include current term tuition and fees, and any prior term balances.

    To be re-enrolled:

    • ALL STUDENTS must be ready to pay, or have already paid, to be re-enrolled.
    • Regional campus students must contact their campus advising office.
    • Undergraduate and professional students must contact the Student Service Center.
    • Graduate students must contact the Graduate School.

    Note: Financial aid cannot be applied until the account is paid. Students waiting for aid must pay the balance due and get a refund once the aid is disbursed.

    For details about university tuition and fees, see the explanation of fees.

  • Why do I have a hold on my account?
  • An administrative hold may be placed on your account if you fail to comply in a reasonable period of time with an obligation imposed under university rules, or if you have an overdue debt or fine. An administrative hold will cause certain services to be withheld, including obtaining current term grades, registering or enrolling, receiving a transcript or borrowing books or equipment.

    If you have a hold on your record, it will be visible in the Holds box in the upper right corner of your Student Center at buckeyelink.osu.edu. Details about each hold are listed in the Details link, including contact information and instructions you will need to follow to clear the hold.

    If you have completed the instructions in your Student Center for each hold and still have questions, contact the Student Service Center for assistance.

  • How does adding or dropping classes affect my account?
  • If you are planning to drop or withdrawal from your courses, please contact the Student Service Center prior to making adjustments to discuss possible fees and adjustments with your financial aid.

    Hour drops or withdrawal may result in the reassessment of your university charges according to the university refund policy, and the recalculation of your financial aid according to federal regulations. The consequences to you depend on a number of factors, including the type and amount of aid you have and the official date on which you drop classes or withdraw.

  • What is covered by the Graduate Fee Authorization?
  • Every graduate associate (GTA, GRA, and GAA) appointed for at least 50 percent of full time receives a fee authorization that covers instructional, general and nonresident fees. Every graduate associate appointed for at least 25 percent of full time receives a fee authorization that covers 50 percent of instructional, general and nonresident fees. Other fees generally must be paid by the student, including parking, computing, student activity and mandatory COTA fees.

    For details about how Graduate Fee Authorizations and Payment Plans appear in your Statement of Account, download this quick reference guide.

If you have additional questions, please contact us.